Corbett Prize

Corbett Prize

The Corbett Prize is awarded to a young scientist for an outstanding contribution given at the ICDS. It consists of a monetary prize and a prize certificate signed by the conference chair. The prize is named in memory of James W. Corbett (1994), one of the pioneers in the field of defects in semiconductors, who always helped and encouraged young researchers. The prize has been awarded at every ICDS since 1995.

Deadline: May 25


  • Candidates must be less than 35 years of age at the first day of the conference
  • Only one abstract per candidate will be considered for the Corbett Prize.
  • Invited speakers and committee members are not eligible.

To apply:

  • Indicate in your abstract submission that you would like to be considered for the Corbett prize.
  • Send an e-mail to that indicates the following:
    • Your date of birth
    • Scientific merit of the work presented
    • Your specific contributions to this work
  • Arrange for your advisor/supervisor to send a letter of support to

Up to 8 finalists will be chosen from the candidates by a panel of judges. Finalists will present a poster at the Tuesday poster session, during which the finalists will be interviewed by the judges. The judging panel assesses the presented research based on the following criteria:

  • Scientific quality and originality of the work
  • Excellence of the candidate’s contribution
  • Knowledge and depth of understanding exhibited by the candidate

The posters will remain exhibited throughout the conference for general viewing. The winner will be announced at the conference banquet.

2017 Corbett Prize Winners

Liwen Sang

Independent scientist at NIMS, Japan (PhD in 2010) for work entitled: “Strain and dislocations in the InGaN-based intermediate-band solar cells”

Elena Pascal

PhD student at University of Strathclyde for work entitled: “Characterization of threading dislocations in nitrides by modeling contrast profiles observed in electron channeling contrast images”